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As a Regular Member hired prior to January 1, 2011, survivor benefits may be payable at your 
death to your spouse and/or child(ren). If you die while in active state service or have at least 
20 years of service, and are not retired, your spouse, minor children, and totally physically 
handicapped or mentally disabled children may be eligible to receive survivor benefits. 

The maximum total benefit payable to all 
survivors is 75 percent of your average 
compensation if you have qualified surviving 
children; or 50 percent to your surviving spouse, 
if you have no qualified surviving children. If 
there is a benefit for a surviving spouse and 
qualified surviving children, the surviving spouse 
receives one-third of the total benefit payable, 
and the children receive two-thirds of the total 
benefit. If there is more than one surviving child, 
the surviving child portion is divided equally 
among all qualified children. Monthly benefits 
will become effective the day after death. If 
your spouse and/or child(ren) are not eligible 
for  survivor benefits, a refund of your employee 
contributions wil be paid to the last  
named beneficiary on file with LASERS.

LASERS should be notified immediately of a member’s death. LASERS may require survivors 
to provide proof annually or at other times that they are still legally entitled to survivor 
benefits. Survivor benefits are not subject to Louisiana inheritance taxes. Survivor benefits are 
not payable to survivors of retired members or survivors of participants in the DROP program 
(except for members in the Judicial Plan).

Children Qualified to Receive a Survivor Benefit

In order for your child(ren) to be eligible for survivor benefits, the child must qualify as a minor 
child or a totally physically handicapped or mentally disabled child. 

A minor child is an unmarried child under age 18 or an unmarried full-time student under 
age 23. A full-time student must be enrolled in a high school, vocational-technical school, GED 
program, college, or university. Students must attend at least 80 percent of enrolled classes to 
remain eligible for benefits. Full-time status must be certified at the beginning of the school 
semester by submitting Form MSD14, Certification of Student Status, and verified mid-way 
through the school semester by submitting Form MSD40, Verification of Student Status to LASERS. 
This form must be certified by a school or college official. 

The maximum total benefit 
payable to all survivors is 
75 percent of your average 
compensation if you have 
qualified surviving children; 
or 50 percent to your surviving 
spouse, if you have no qualified 
surviving children.

Survivor Benefits for 
Regular Members
 Hired Prior to January 1, 2011 (La. R.S. 11:471 and LAC 58.I.1901 - 1909)
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A totally physically handicapped or mentally disabled child must have met this criterion at the 
time of death of the member and they must be dependent upon the surviving spouse or other 
legal guardian.

The qualified child must also meet one of the following criteria to be eligible for benefits:

•	 Child of a marriage of a member
•	 Biological child of a female member 
•	 Child of a male member acknowledged under Louisiana law
•	 Legally adopted child of a member

LASERS will pay your qualified surviving children 75 percent of your average monthly 
compensation or $300.00 per month, whichever is greater, if:

•	 You are in state service at time of your death, and accumulated at least five years 
service credit, at least two years of which were earned immediately prior to your 
death, or

•	 You accumulated 20 or more years service credit, whether or not you were in state 
service at time of your death.

 
Benefits for minors under age 18 are paid in care of their legal guardian under the minor’s Social 
Security number. If your surviving spouse is entitled to a benefit, one-third of the benefit will 
be assigned to your spouse, and two-thirds will be designated to your minor children. Minor 
children over age 18 who are not disabled, if still eligible, will be paid directly.

Spouse Qualified to Receive a Survivor Benefit

If you are married at the time of your death, your spouse may be eligible to receive a survivor 
benefit. A surviving spouse without minor children will receive 50 percent of your average 
monthly compensation or $200.00 per month, whichever is greater, if:

•	 You accumulated at least 10 years service credit with two years being earned 
immediately prior to death, and you are in state service at time of death, or 

•	 You accumulated at least 20 years service credit, whether or not you are in state service 
at time of death, and 

•	 You and your surviving spouse were married for at least one year before your death.
 
This is a lifetime benefit regardless of whether your spouse remarries or has other income.

Physically Handicapped or Mentally Disabled Children Qualified to Receive 
a Survivor Benefit

Your surviving physically handicapped or mentally disabled children may be eligible for a 
benefit not to exceed 75 percent of your average monthly compensation or $300.00, whichever 
is greater. This benefit is payable, regardless of the child’s age, if the child is incapacitated at 
the time of your death. The child must be dependent on your surviving spouse or other legal 
guardian. This benefit is payable for their lifetime. If there is more than one qualified surviving 
child, the benefit will be divided equally among all qualified children, including disabled 
children.
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Form MSD52, Certification for Disabled Survivor must be submitted to LASERS annually. 

Alternate Distribution of Benefits for Surviving Spouse and Adult Children

There are two options for an alternate distribution of survivor benefits available if you have 
adult children and a surviving spouse. One of these options may be chosen even if you have 
minor children at the time of the election, but it shall not become effective until there are no 
longer any children of your current or prior marriage who are qualified to receive survivor 
benefits. The benefit established is based on the age and mortality of your surviving spouse and 
will terminate upon the death of your surviving spouse. The benefit is payable to the children 
and surviving spouse only for the lifetime of your surviving spouse. 

The first option is available under the following circumstances:

•	 You have no minor children from either current marriage or prior marriage, 
•	 You have adult children from a prior marriage, and
•	 You have adult children from your current marriage.

 
 
If the above conditions are met, you and your spouse can submit a written agreement to direct 
LASERS to divide what would normally be your spouse’s benefit in any agreed proportion to your 
children and your spouse. The written agreement must clearly set forth the agreed proportionate 
amounts. The agreement is automatically revoked if you and your spouse divorce. Also, either you 
or your spouse can revoke the agreement by written notice to LASERS prior to your death. 

The second option is available under the following circumstances:

•	 You have no minor children from either current marriage or prior marriage, 
•	 You have adult children of a prior marriage, and
•	 You have no adult children from your current marriage.

 

If the above conditions are met, you may direct, in writing, the benefit be split between your 
spouse and adult children of your prior marriage. The split is proportional, with your surviving 
spouse receiving a share based on the ratio of the length of your current marriage while in state 
service to your total state service.  

If you were in state service 18 years and were married to your current spouse nine years, 
the ratio would be nine-eighteenths (9/18)--or one-half (1/2). Your surviving spouse would 
receive one-half (1/2) of the benefit and the adult children of your prior marriage would 
share one-half (1/2) of the benefit.  

Trust for Minor Children

Any benefit due the qualified surviving children may be paid to a trust created under Louisiana 
law for each child. 
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Lump-sum Payment to a Beneficiary

If you have less than five years service credit, or have no surviving spouse or qualified 
surviving children, your survivors are not entitled to monthly benefits. In this case, your last 
named beneficiary or your estate will receive a lump-sum payment of your total employee 
contributions. Funds received by a beneficiary are not subject to Louisiana inheritance taxes. 
However, if the funds become part of your estate, they then become subject to state inheritance 
taxes.

Application Process

To apply for survivor benefits, your beneficiary(ies) must submit the following to LASERS:

•	 Form 3-01, Application for Survivor Benefits
•	 Copy of the death certificate for the member
•	 Copies of Social Security cards and birth certificates for all survivors and the 

member
•	 Certified Copy of a Judgment of Divorce and/or copy of the death certificate of 

the member’s former spouse (if applicable)
•	 Copy of Marriage Certificates of all survivor applicants
•	 Form MSD14, Certification of Student Status for all student survivor applicants
•	 Form MSD52, Certification for Disabled Survivor for any physically handicapped or 

mentally disabled child applicants
•	 Form 4-05, Authorization for Direct Deposit (required for the spouse of the deceased 

member)
•	 Form 6-02, Insurance Premium Deduction Authorization (if applicable)
•	 Form W-4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension or Annuity Payments. This form 

is not required. If the form is not submitted to LASERS, your federal tax 
withholding will be set as “Married with three exemptions.”

Revised December 2014



Contact Information
Location: 8401 United Plaza Blvd. • Baton Rouge, LA 70809

Mail: P.O. Box 44213 • Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4213

Phone: (toll-free) 800.256.3000 • (local) 225.922.0600

Web: www.lasersonline.org

The Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System (LASERS) distributed 
this document digitally. No publication costs were incurred.
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