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Survivor Benefits for 
Regular Members
Hired on or After January 1, 2011 (La. R.S. 11:471.1)

As a Regular Member hired on or after January 
1, 2011, survivor benefits may be payable at 
your death to your beneficiary(ies). If you die 
while in active state service or have at least 
20 years of service, and are not retired, your 
spouse, minor children, and totally physically 
handicapped or mentally disabled children may 
be eligible to receive survivor benefits. If there 
is more than one surviving child, the surviving 
child portion is divided equally among all 
qualified children. Monthly benefits will 
become effective the day after death. Survivor 
benefits are also payable to minor child 
survivors of retired members or participants in 
the DROP program.

LASERS should be notified immediately of a member’s death. LASERS may require survivors to 
provide proof annually or at other times that they are still legally entitled to survivor benefits. 
Survivor benefits are not subject to Louisiana inheritance taxes. 

Children Qualified to Receive a Survivor Benefit

In order for your child to qualify for survivor benefits, you must have at least five years of 
service credit. The child must qualify as a minor child or a totally physically handicapped or 
mentally disabled child. 

A minor child is an unmarried child under age 18 or an unmarried full-time student under 
age 23. A full-time student must be enrolled in a high school, vocational-technical school, GED 
program, college, or university. Students must attend at least 80 percent of enrolled classes 
to remain eligible for benefits. Fulltime status must be certified at the beginning of the school 
semester by submitting Form MSD14, Certification of Student Status, and verified mid-way 
through the school semester by submitting Form MSD40, Verification of Student Status to 
LASERS. This form must be certified by a school or college official. 

A totally physically handicapped or mentally disabled child must have met this criterion at the 
time of death of the member and they must be dependent upon the surviving spouse or other 
legal guardian.

Monthly benefits will 
become effective the day 
after death. Survivor 
benefits are also payable 
to minor child survivors 
of retired members 
or participants in the 
DROP program.
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The qualified surviving child must also meet one of the following criteria to be eligible 
for benefits:

•	 Child of a marriage of a member
•	 Biological child of a female member 
•	 Child of a male member acknowledged under Louisiana law
•	 Legally adopted child of a member

LASERS will pay your qualified surviving children 50 percent of the benefit for a surviving 
spouse with children (even if there is no surviving spouse) for each child up to a maximum 
of two children (see the section below on Children and Spouse Qualified to Receive a 
Survivor Benefit to determine the benefit for a surviving spouse). This amount will be divided 
equally among all eligible children. When one child is no longer eligible, the benefit will 
be redistributed among the eligible children. A totally physically handicapped or mentally 
disabled child will remain eligible for benefits, regardless of age, unless subsequent changes in 
the child’s condition cause the child to no longer be dependent.

Benefits for minors under age 18 are paid in care of their legal guardian under the minor’s 
Social Security number. Minor children over age 18 who are not disabled, if still eligible, will be 
paid directly. 

No surviving child may receive more than one survivor’s benefit. If two benefits are applicable, 
only the larger benefit will be paid.

Spouse Qualified to Receive a Survivor Benefit

If you are married at the time of your death, your spouse may be eligible to receive a survivor 
benefit. A surviving spouse without minor children will receive the Option 2A equivalent of the 
retirement benefit that would have been due the member based upon their years of service and 
applicable accrual rate (regardless of years of service) or $600.00, whichever is greater, if:

•	 You accumulated at least 10 years service credit with two years being earned 
immediately prior to death, and you are in state service at time of death, or 

•	 You accumulated at least 20 years service credit, whether or not you are in state service 
at time of death, and 

•	 You and your surviving spouse were married for at least one year before your death. 
 
If you are eligible for Regular retirement on your date of death, this will be a lifetime benefit 
regardless of whether your spouse remarries or has other income. If you are not eligible for 
Regular retirement on your date of death, this is not a lifetime benefit and will cease upon 
remarriage. Benefits will resume upon the death or divorce from the new spouse. 

Children and Spouse Qualified to Receive a Survivor Benefit

If you are married at the time of your death and have a qualified surviving child/children, your 
spouse and qualified child/children may be eligible to receive a survivor benefit. A surviving 
spouse will receive 50 percent of the maximum retirement benefit that would have been due 
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the member based upon their years of service and applicable accrual rate (regardless of years 
of service) or $600.00, whichever is greater, and the qualified child/children will each receive 50 
percent of the spouse’s benefit (up to a maximum of two children), if:

•	 You accumulated at least five years service credit with two years being earned 
immediately prior to death, and you are in state service at time of death, or 

•	 You accumulated at least 20 years service credit, whether or not you are in state 
service at time of death.

The total benefits paid to a surviving spouse and qualified surviving child/children (as long as 
the spouse and child/children are both eligible for benefits) shall not be less than the Option 2A 
equivalent for the surviving spouse. The children’s benefit will be divided equally among all 
eligible children. When one child is no longer eligible, the benefit will be redistributed among 
the eligible children.

Benefits for minors under age 18 are paid in care of their legal guardian under the minor’s Social 
Security number. Minor children over age 18 who are not disabled, if still eligible, will be paid 
directly. 

No qualified surviving child may receive more than one survivor’s benefit. If two benefits are 
applicable, only the larger benefit will be paid. 

If you are eligible for Regular retirement on your date of death, this benefit will be paid to 
your spouse until your qualified surviving children cease to be eligible for survivor benefits, 
regardless of whether your spouse remarries or has other income. When all children cease to be 
eligible for a survivor benefit, your spouse’s eligibility and benefit amount will be determined 
based upon the provisions for a Spouse Qualified to Receive a Survivor Benefit. If you are 
not eligible for Regular retirement on your date of death, the spouse’s benefit will cease upon 
remarriage. Benefits will resume upon the death or divorce from the new spouse.

Physically Handicapped or Mentally Disabled Children Qualified to Receive 
a Survivor Benefit

Your surviving physically handicapped or mentally disabled children may be eligible for a 
benefit. This benefit is payable, regardless of the child’s age, if the child is incapacitated at 
the time of your death. The child must be dependent on your surviving spouse or other legal 
guardian. This benefit is payable for their lifetime. If there is more than one qualified surviving 
child, the benefit will be divided equally among all qualified children, including disabled 
children.

Form MSD 52, Certification for Disabled Survivor must be submitted to LASERS annually. 

Trust for Minor Children

Any benefit due the qualified surviving minor children may be paid to a trust created under 
Louisiana law for each child. 
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Lump-sum Payment to a Beneficiary

If you have less than five years of service credit, or have no surviving spouse or qualified 
surviving children, your survivors are not entitled to monthly benefits. In this case, your last 
named beneficiary or your estate will receive a lump-sum payment of your total employee 
contributions. Funds received by a beneficiary are not subject to Louisiana inheritance taxes. 
However, if the funds become part of your estate, they then become subject to state inheritance 
taxes. 
 

Application Process

To apply for survivor benefits, your beneficiary(ies) must submit the following to 
LASERS:

•	 Form 3-01, Application for Survivor Benefits
•	 Copy of the death certificate for the member
•	 Copies of Social Security cards and birth certificates for all survivors and the 

member
•	 Certified Copy of a Judgment of Divorce and/or copy of the death certificate of 

the member’s former spouse (if applicable)
•	 Copy of Marriage Certificates of all survivor applicants
•	 Form MSD14, Certification of Student Status for all student survivor applicants
•	 Form MSD52, Certification for Disabled Survivor for any physically handi-

capped or mentally disabled child applicants
•	 Form 4-05, Authorization for Direct Deposit (required for the spouse of the 

deceased member)
•	 Form 6-02, Insurance Premium Deduction Authorization (if applicable)
•	 Form W-4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension or Annuity Payments. This 

form is not required. If the form is not submitted to LASERS, your federal tax 
withholding will be set as “Married with three exemptions”



Contact Information
Location: 8401 United Plaza Blvd. • Baton Rouge, LA 70809

Mail: P.O. Box 44213 • Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4213

Phone: (toll-free) 800.256.3000 • (local) 225.922.0600

Web: www.lasersonline.org

The Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System (LASERS) distributed 
this document digitally. No publication costs were incurred.
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